Protected: Longhand!!!

hi

The Daily Post

Although we had computers when I was in college, I was in the habit of writing my many papers longhand. I would spend hours in the library with research material piled up around me, taking meticulous numbered notes, which I would then compile into a detailed outline. Once I had polished my outline to the point that I felt like I needed only to add punctuation and transitions to turn it into an essay, I would scrawl out my first draft by hand. Next I would type my first printed draft and edit it and subsequent printed drafts by hand, riddling them with corrections and notes and editorial notations until I felt like I had a piece worth reading.

For years after college, I wrote very little prose other than the occasional blog post or personal email. When I did begin writing more formal or structured prose for public consumption…

View original post 401 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

This post is password protected. Enter the password to view any comments.